Contractor Talk - Professional Construction and Remodeling Forum banner

1 - 20 of 33 Posts

·
Registered
60 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all, I am a carpenter in training so I'm not completely sure about this yet but to me it doesn't seem right. My grandma is having some remodels done and one thing that caught my eye today was that the contractor was using green paper drywall as his tile backer for the shower attached with drywall screws and there were 1/2" gaps between some sheets he also set the board directly on top of the plastic pan? Any insight you guys can give me would be great because I think he's starting to tile tomorrow and I wanna be able to step in before it's to late thanks!

·
Registered
11,377 Posts
Hi all, I am a carpenter in training so I'm not completely sure about this yet but to me it doesn't seem right. My grandma is having some remodels done and one thing that caught my eye today was that the contractor was using green paper drywall as his tile backer for the shower attached with drywall screws and there were 1/2" gaps between some sheets he also set the board directly on top of the plastic pan? Any insight you guys can give me would be great because I think he's starting to tile tomorrow and I wanna be able to step in before it's to late thanks!
That's absolutely wrong. It needs cement board, properly installed. There's no talking sense to somebody who does that, so firing is in order.

·
Registered
345 Posts
He can kerdi the drywall but I bet that's not in his plan.
Good luck....it needs to have some waterproofing over it.

·
Registered
88 Posts
Fire the tile guy he does not know what he is doing.

The IRC in 2006 disallowed using green board as a tile backer in wet areas. If I was at my office I could give you more examples of organizations that disallow it.

The next question is how does he intend on waterproofing it.

·
Registered
88 Posts