Contractor Talk - Professional Construction and Remodeling Forum banner
1 - 20 of 76 Posts

·
Registered
70 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm new to General Contracting and just starting out. Just started my business about a year ago. I have a friend who is a personal trainer at a gym. I got a call and they wanted some remodeling done. They needed some doorways opened up, shower installed, electrical work, and some other things. I brought in a plumber and electrician who were recommended from a friend of mine who uses them all the time on his jobs. I have brought them in on one other bid i did, but that is the extent of my experience with them.

So i show up at the gym to meet with the plumber and when i show up he is talking with the gym owner about running plumbing to hook up a washer. Ok, no big deal. Im thinking this will all be part of my bid. So i met with the subs and the gym owner and we walk through what the gym owner wants in terms of a shower and electrical changes. I go back a second time to discuss some other options and the gym owner has some electrical stuff she wants done at her home, so i give her my electricians number. A week later i get bids back from the electrician and plumber and i put together a bid and itemize everything like they want. I add 10% to the electrician and plumbing bid and then my charges for the rest of the work. I bid it low because i wanted the job. My buddy texts me and says the owner was really impressed with my professionalism and attention to detail. Im thinking things are looking good. They originally told me they want the project done before the first of the year. I send the bid over the last week in November.