Contractor Talk - Professional Construction and Remodeling Forum banner

1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
35 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all, I am new here. I like this site alot.I've been a carpenter for about 16 years.
Just recently got my Ins. & liscence and started doing my own thing.. I may be out of line here about charging prices. But it isnt really about charging a specific rate.,but when you buy material,rather than the customer buying it. How much do you tack on to the price that was paid.To cover your time and some profit?? I mean they don't know the price but I don't want to rip them off.:confused1: Or is that something you don't do?? I have a big kitchen to do and a whole lot of hardwood.Do I add like an additional 10 to 20percent ?? I want to make sure I am getting what I deserve..Don't want to be known as a low baller,or rip off...

Thanks in advance

·
Registered
17 Posts
ok nj

Now you listen to me and you listen good.You are good at what you do,I gather, and I can tell you respect your customers,wich is good for bussines.Transporting material cost money......thats a man and a truck that cost $300.00 a day.So there is your formula.keep track of your windshield time(that just breaks you even)Then charge them 15% on top of it.Your not riping them off ..do it right,,,not free!

·
Registered
35 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thank You Rossi, You are right I dont want to under charge..Time is money...wear and tear and all that good stuff...:thumbsup:

·
Contractor
4,736 Posts
I guess you're asking for a T&M job? Rossi's number is a good starting point. I also consider carrying costs...more % tacked on for carrying the costs longer and maybe a smaller % for a larger job-make sure you hit your numbers :thumbsup:

·
Super Moderator
11,936 Posts
More justification to mark up:

Remember you are taking a financial risk here too. (Let's say your check clears and HO's doesn't)