Contractor Talk - Professional Construction and Remodeling Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
22 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm new to this site. I have a question about Michigan licensing. When I took my exam for the builders license, I remember there was a topic about not giving dollars to people who get business for you. I studied this in class and am quite sure the question was on the test, (it was something like, if Joe got a job for you doing remodeling, would it be okay to give him $50 for getting you the job?; and the answer was supposed to be no.)

I took this test several years ago, and was recently asked by a prospective client if they could get business for me and receive a commission of sorts from doing so. I am wondering now about the law I studied way back about such matters. Why would they have a law that we can't pay people to get business for us? Is there such a law? Am I remembering this correctly?

·
Registered
22 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
thanks for your reply

Thank you for responding. I remember now this matter had to do with kickbacks. I wonder if there is a legal way to do this.

·
Registered
22 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
thank you for replying

I think that's what the person wanted to call it; a commission. What I was wondering is, would the state try to call it something else? If one person were to find work and receive commissions for getting that work, I don't know if they could still call that a kickback, for it seems different.

Does anyone know where I could ask that question and get a legitimate answer?

·
Registered
917 Posts
Give them a referall discount on their next project. $500/off or something like that for getting you a big project. Obviously your pricing will affect the discount at the end of the estimate.

·
EVIL GENIUS
2,546 Posts
Isnt this the same as a lead service?

I dont remember a question like that on my exam.

Reactions: licensed-trim

·
EVIL GENIUS
2,546 Posts