Contractor Talk - Professional Construction and Remodeling Forum banner
1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
144 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I was sent these pictures asking if i could tile the bathroom floor. I have zero experience with hardwood floors. Can anyone give some insight to what its going to take to pull up the hardwood? Should i recommend just tiling over the wood? I cant go see in person its about 8 hours away. Thanks for any help.

Floor Furniture Property Hardwood Room

Toilet Toilet seat Purple Pink Floor

·
Registered
2,633 Posts
Looks like a lot of glued down stuff. Should be super easy. Heat and pop off. Also, that is one sorry arsed job from the original floorer.

·
Registered
53 Posts
Ask them to remove some of the trim and see what it takes to get some of the exising flooring off, then take another picture. I'd hate to travel 8 hours to a job (I assume this is a friend or family member) only to find out there is a lot more involved than originally expected.

Putting in a nicer floor might make the existing vanity and toilet look worse. If they're going for a quick change, consider skipping the tile and glue down some vinyl. It seems they are going for a nicer look so I might suggest doing more than just the floor. Easier to replace vanity, toilet, and floor at the same time than piece by piece.

·
Registered
144 Posts
Discussion Starter · #9 ·
its a friends parents house. considering the job because my broke ass will take any work i can find.

they are way too old and frail to be pulling up pieces of hardwood and taking more pics. i would feel bad having a tile contractor go waste his time and give info when there is no chance he will score the job.

so i feel dumb but i cant tell what are jokes and what aren't.....is hardwood like this glued down? ive only seen guys installing planks and using that gnarly hammer to drive nails at an angle into the tongue and groove section.