Contractor Talk - Professional Construction and Remodeling Forum banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Banned
16 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello all,

Another major issue I have always run into is "Wait time".
I do a lot of small projects around my house (refinishing furniture)
and the biggest issue is usually "Wait Time"

For example,
1st day .....stain 1st coat
2nd day.....stain 2nd coat
3rd day .....possible wait until completely dry.
4th day...1st coat poly
5th day 2nd coat poly
6th day 3rd coat.....

So you see my point. If I had to do this for a living, it would take a week for me to stain & poly an object. (oil base)

I have always been told that OIL is better than latex. However, latex dries in hours VS days with oil.

So my question is:
What do the pros use in their shops?
I remember seeing a guy spray 2 coats of stain & poly in 1 hour!

What the hell do they use?
Where do they buy it?
Thanks again,
Lou

·
Particulate Filter
4,430 Posts
Yep. Conversion varnish to be a little more accurate in the description. Just got in 30 gallon a few weeks ago.
The important thing to remember is to put down some tar paper before you spray. Ambient moisture from the concrete in the shop can causing cupping and grain raise. Some guys use aquabar, but for shop work I find the roofing felt holds up better.

·
Registered
Remodel
29,663 Posts
For the non-pro side, you can use aniline dyes in alcohol, shellac, tinted shellac, traditional lacquer, and tinted traditional lacquer. The tinted stuff you mix yourself.

You can also use tinted wax for a filler. I don't recommend you do this on something you care about until you've had some practice.

Off the top of my head, that's all the fast drying stuff that can be wiped or brushed, but the dye is usually sprayed. Spraying any of these is easier.

·
Registered
442 Posts
Finishing with Oil and/or latex stains su** at best. Most topcoats found at the local home improvement store are even worse. (My opinion anyway)