Contractor Talk - Professional Construction and Remodeling Forum banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm fairly new to working for myself. I live in gulf shores, AL. last year Ivan ripped us a new #[email protected], which was unfortunate for most, but the house I live in survived, so it turned into job security for me and hundreds of others. I prefer inside painting but I have been offered an outside job. I have done a lot of outside work, but not an entire house by myself. I have an enormous house to paint. it's all outside work, but it is everything. trim, facie, gables, soffits, decks, railings, etc...I am unfamiliar with pricing for outside work. I charge .32 - .45 /sqft for inside, aside from faux, but this house has a lot of ladder work/ boomlift work, which ever ends up more cost effective. my question is where do I find pricing guides? I have heard that most pricing for work of this nature comes from insurance companies and what they are willing to pay their customers for their loss. I don't know where to find listings from them. I am going to write the companies I can find on the web, and request a list, but I do not know if that is the right course of action. I appreciate any help anyone can give me.

·
Pro Painter
2,314 Posts
Wow...I wonder how you can stay in business charging that little for interior work. If I didn't have vehicles, insurance, equipment, wages, and profit to consider I might be able to work that cheap. My last interior (which I NEVER price by sq ft) would have come out $2+ sq/ft....

You need a good grip on your production rates, over-head, profit, your own salary requirements, etc before you can figure a price. For instance, it costs me close to $70/day just to walk outside and turn the key in my van. That's just the vehicle insurance, the payment, and the gas...Then there is liability insurance, my salary, and over-head for the company....and the company also needs it's profit paid out of each job.