Contractor Talk - Professional Construction and Remodeling Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
"Buy Quality, Cry Once"
726 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey guys, as I've stated before I've been painting for a tad over 20 years, and done side jobs during that time. I've just recently started out on my own. I've done several jobs, have several lined up, and several to bid on.

On most, if not all of the side jobs I used to do when working for someone else I would just take a quick look at the job figure about how long it would take and give them a price...not too much thought to it at all. Now that I'm doing this on my own I've tried to come up with some formulas, I can't afford the estimate software right now that's in the future.

I have been on a couple jobs (interior) where the people looked at me like I was out of my mind when they saw my proposal, outrageous they said...ok, no problem, leave them with a contractor comparsion form (thanks to a certain member of this forum), then I'm off. Some folks look at the proposal and can't believe I'm giving them such a good price.

Now I'm well aware that differant prices for contractors in differant parts of the country, and there are many variables. I am at this time working by myself, my overhead is fairly low. And I know I'm giving decent prices for the quality work I do as I'm trying to build a customer base and a name for myself.