Contractor Talk - Professional Construction and Remodeling Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I want to attach some two-by horizontally to a wall using a powder-actuated tool and fastener (Ramset). I want things to be level. Is there some trick to keeping the lumber to the line while you fire the shot when working alone? I've never done this before and I suspect the shock will move the lumber off my level line.

Or, perhaps the "trick" is that you really need four hands, such that someone else holds the two-by firmly in place. Or, I'm just fretting for nothing?

Cheers.

·
Builder of Stuff
363 Posts
Other than the typical difficulties of holding long lengths while fastening, I don't think you'll have any trouble. I assume you're using a trigger actuated ramset, not one of the hammer smack things.

·
diplomat
5,292 Posts
If you don't stand on one foot and hold your tounge just right it will come out crooked....:whistling:laughing:
I can't count the times I've used a foot to hold up something. I usually glance around first to make sure no one is watching.

·
Registered
541 Posts
I don't own any powder actuated tools myself and I usually use tapcons or some kind of anchor for something like that. But I can remember very specifically holding a board for an old boss of mine while he shot it on about 7 or 8 years ago. The way we were standing, the gun was right next to my ear and it really got me good. I was an idiot, and my boss was a jackass for allowing me to be an idiot, but that was one of the incidents that led to me getting serious about hearing protection while I still have a little left. By the way, I probably flinched enough that I wasn't a real reliable way of holding the board on the straight and level anyhow.

·
Registered
943 Posts
I just had to do this actually. I stuck a zip pole on an angle under one end of the piece just to prop it up, not caring whether or not it was on the line.