Contractor Talk - Professional Construction and Remodeling Forum banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm a carpenter and have come across a scary situation. My concern is a house built with 2 additions. The original 2 floor house has a normal poured foundation with basement, the 2 additions are on concrete pillars, for no reason other than cost I'm sure. The original foundation is fractured but stable, one addition connected directly to a full wall off the 1st floor is 3 feet off the ground and stable enough, however, the largest addition is built as a separate house connected by a 16 foot enclosed breezeway to the second floor and is 12 feet off the ground on pillars 4 ft deep. I can best describe the situation by comparing it to a tree house connected to a normal house by an enclosed bridge. When the tree house sways in the wind, it tears at the house. Aside from the swaying, the addition is starting to lean to one side at the farthest end not connected to the house. Question is,, is it proper at all for a building to have this combination of pillars (swaying in the wind) connected to a regular foundation portion of a house. The 2 designs seem to fight each other!! This has actually been done by permit yet seems so wrong. I don't want to be the one correcting the lean but if this isn't a proper design, I don't want to do any work to this addition. Thank you

·
General Contractor
8,082 Posts