Contractor Talk - Professional Construction and Remodeling Forum banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have an exterior cmu wall project where there are several places that the horizontal reinforcing is visible and poking out of the wall. Several courses were added before this was discovered. Can these be corrected without replacing the whole wall? What is the impact of leaving it as is?

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
casey who?

Actually I'm a civil engineer acting as a volunteer for a town project, so obviously no experience with masonry. Just trying to make sure the little league gets what they are paying for.

Thanks for your generous help!

·
Curmudgeon
11,706 Posts
Generally engineers are all about details.
Your question seems uncharacteristically vague.
Sorry, but it's difficult to see your
problem and application from here.

·
Registered
35 Posts
I have an exterior cmu wall project where there are several places that the horizontal reinforcing is visible and poking out of the wall. Several courses were added before this was discovered. Can these be corrected without replacing the whole wall? What is the impact of leaving it as is?
the only way to fix it(and its not hard) is to get a 4 inch grinder with a diamond tiped blad 3/8' wide and grind out the spots where you can see the horizontal reinforcement wire, and then repoint those areas.Where its sticking out possibly you can use wire cutters on those areas.A masonry wall should be sealed when struck...... leaveing it like that is not advisable, your masons were carless..it may take years but thats exactly where the deterioration will start if you leave it go.. If

·
Registered
686 Posts
how bad