Contractor Talk - Professional Construction and Remodeling Forum banner

1 - 20 of 53 Posts

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey there, newbie here
I teach construction and can't find a reason to not build a pole barn on a slab.
It would be easier to pour the cement, I would anchor posts with a steel anchor, plenty of re-bar.

What are your thoughts?

·
Registered
344 Posts
When I was building pole barns this is how I attached to slabs.
Or I should say this is how the engineers at the pole barn manufacture wanted us to attach to slabs.

Attachments

·
Pro
2,138 Posts
Quad Racer said:
My thoughts are

1 I'm glad your'e at least asking since you're unsure.
2 How did you become a teacher being unsure?
If you're sure, love to hear your thoughts.

This sounds like a legitimate question to me that may spawn into new product links from guys on this forum that do this somewhat frequently.

Stand down.

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
I have taught my students to never be afraid to ask a question, and I am just saying I can't find a single reason to refrain from building on a slab.

I would use a footing below the frost line for each post, but attach at the surface with a steel strap/tie down embedded into the wet cement.

What am I not thinking of? What am I missing?

I am never ashamed to admit I don't know it all.

·
Registered
242 Posts
I have taught my students to never be afraid to ask a question, and I am just saying I can't find a single reason to refrain from building on a slab.

I would use a footing below the frost line for each post, but attach at the surface with a steel strap/tie down embedded into the wet cement.

What am I not thinking of? What am I missing?

I am never ashamed to admit I don't know it all.
Well you didn't mention using a footing in your first post. So I was going off of the information that was provided.

And tenon you're not in a position to command me to stand down. I dont know who the he11 you are.

·