Contractor Talk - Professional Construction and Remodeling Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Guy's..... I am a newbie on here and I want to thank you in advance for any assistance you may be able to provide.

I have had a bed bug problem starting about 4 months ago. I have a rental property where i rent out the individual rooms , 3 at this house. I contacted an exterminator who has come by and treated the place on four occasions. Still have some active bugs.
My question is regarding the product being used. He is using a mixture called V88 ....... I am wondering if you guys are familiar with this and if it is effective. Are there any other more effective products i could try myself ?.

These bugs are a real pain the A$$ to get rid of and the $$$ is starting to add up. Also, i do not want to rent to a new tenant until I have this under control.

Thanks again..... suffering in Fl.

·
Registered
271 Posts
Oh, and is this a house? As in free standing structure with no common walls like an apartment building. A regular house.

Then to rule out internal sources and bat bugs: Is it on a slab? If not, please detail foundation and skirting a little. Mostly can critters get under it. What about the attic, can critters get in there? Any trees touching the house?

How much are you willing to spend on do it yourself products?

·
Registered
271 Posts
I would limit myself to non-chemical methods if I were you. I would buy them some of the following products if they like and have them self apply.

Gentrol point source
Bedlam
Phantom aerosol
Mattress covers designed for bed bugs, get one for the box spring as well

If they won't do that then I would get another exterminator. You could apply the products yourself, but there's some liability to worry about when you go spraying people's beds.

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·