Contractor Talk - Professional Construction and Remodeling Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Web Dude
153 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Full Disclosure:

I am a web dude. I make my living helping business owners make money using the internet. I’m writing this from as much of an unbiased perspective as I can, but I also want to educate you. Hopefully you learn something in this article that will help you grow your business.

Now that we have that out of the way, I’m probably going to shock you here so sit down.

I strongly urge you to get a pro website done.
Bet you didn’t see that coming.

But here are some reasons why:

You will spend less time getting it up and going, getting results faster. (results = money)
How long do you want to dedicate to your day learning HTML, CSS, PHP or a CMS, or whatever other geek speak I could spew at you.

I promise that’s the last time I will use geek speak in this article, but think about it. What else could you be doing with your time? (The correct answer is cashing checks baby! Or meeting new customers, networking, building my business)

A web person has already put in the time to learn this stuff. What may take you an hour to get going, he is banging out in 15 mins. How much is your time worth?

Depending on how much content your site has, it should be up within two weeks, from concept to completion.

If you know a CMS (damn, another quarter for the geek speak jar) your updates are incredibly easy to make.

You want a new page added?
Boom.
Done.

Your site will get indexed faster. SEO is a pain in the nuts, but if you know what you’re doing it goes smoother. Don’t let anybody tell you SEO isn’t important. The only time SEO isn’t important is when you don’t want new business.

If a website crashes and no one is around, does it make a sound?
Ya, it’s crying. Like your bank account.