Contractor Talk - Professional Construction and Remodeling Forum banner

1 - 20 of 61 Posts

·
WOOD TICK
33 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello everyone. I have decided to take the plunge into general contracting. Ive been working in the trades for 12 years. I want to build a presold home. If It doesnt come through I am going to build a spec. If I quit my job to start building this house can I use the draws from the bank to pay myself. I cant afford to not have an income for a months. I talked to a friend in banking and she wasnt very helpful. I know some banks are more leaniant with there money than others. I hope this makes since. thanks

·
Super Moderator
10,595 Posts
If you can't afford to go a few months without income then in my opinion, you are not ready to take this plunge. Most new businesses fail in the first year. A business that starts with no cash has no real chance of success. No bank is gonna be ok with this arrangement.

·
Super Moderator
11,936 Posts
Taking the plunge in most all cases truly means taking the plunge.

It takes time to establish your business, and a general rule of thumb is that you should have enough reserves to live without income for at least 6 months. (in addition to your capital investment)

Be careful and welcome to CT.

·
I own stock in FotoMat!
12,609 Posts
........ I cant afford to not have an income for a months. .........
IMPO, you are far from ready. You need to have enough cash reserves on hand to pay your personal bills for at least the first 6 months, if not 12, in order to even contemplate hanging out your own shingle.

Reactions: custrel

·
Vendor
6,346 Posts
The skill set required for general contracting is not the same one as used by the trades.

In this climate, you are insane to consider a spec home, and wildly optimistic to think you can run a business without a substantial amount of cash reserves. You will not be able to get a loan for your venture from a bank, period.

·
KemoSabe
14,233 Posts