Contractor Talk - Professional Construction and Remodeling Forum banner

1 - 20 of 57 Posts

·
Registered
30 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I found this site as I was looking for information on starting up. Here's my story and questions:

I don't have very much experience in painting, but am fairly good in the business sense. My Dad, who has no business sense, is a great painter. Here's my business idea. And my questions are at the bottom.

I have a '98 Jeep Cherokee Laredo, and will have the money to start up early this summer. Until then, I'm wanting to learn all I can about starting my business, learning what equipment I absolutely need to begin, and all the painting books, magazines, websites, experts help, that I can get. My Dad will help me learn about all the painting aspects of it as well.

I'm checking out every business website I can find to help me get ready. SBA, TN.gov, etc. I know it's going to be hard to jump in headfirst into something I'm not an expert in, but I'm 25, do not have a college degree yet, and had nothing but dead-end jobs up until now, so I'm wanting to make something of myself with a lot of hard work and dedication.

I'm going to do this myself, and hopefully my Dad's help every now and then, as a consultant maybe. I have my wifes support, which is all I need right now, and I'm not expecting to 'get rich quick', or making a killing early on.

I'm just hoping to make this a labor of love, a business I can continue on for years to come, and something I will enjoy doing, especially since I won't have a boss (except for my wife).

1. What equipment is absolutely necessary to start up for a one-man operation?

2. Without a line of credit, where would be the cheapest, but good quality, supplies? eBay, Paint Supply stores, or Home Depot/Lowes?

3. What books, magazines, articles, or websites, besides this and Painttalk.com should I get or visit to help me learn?