Contractor Talk - Professional Construction and Remodeling Forum banner

1 - 20 of 61 Posts

·
Registered
29 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I just sent off an estimate to a client, a few minutes later I get a reply from them. "That's about 3000 over what we budgeted for" My question is, how would you guys who have been in the trades longer handle this? Also they are paying 37% and Insurance is paying the rest, if that makes a difference.

I'm in my second year of business and I am just a small company, so haven't had any experience with this. They are wanting me to come down 975.00

The house is a steep two story, and cut up. I feel I gave her my price that I am comfortable doing the job at and making a decent profit. The house was hit by a tornado last fall and had the porch roof repaired not too long ago (nothing fancy). They told me it cost them 10,000 to get it repaired. My estimate for the entire house is roughly 1,300 more than that. Can they really expect me to re-roof their entire house for less than what they paid to have their porch roof fixed?

Any Help Appreciated.

·
Registered
785 Posts
Sounds like they want you to come down their deductible. I would simply say no and talk to them about what that is not going to fly. Also since they are coming back to you they either like you or they can't get others to come down either.

·
Pro
2,859 Posts
Rookie roofer said: