Contractor Talk - Professional Construction and Remodeling Forum banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
79 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Does anybody here run another business part time along with your main contracting or handyman business?

·
Registered
8,606 Posts
I work a full time job as a construction manager, own a painting company that does 4-5 homes per week, and run these websites... which is kind of a part time job?

·
Registered
11 Posts
I remodel full time and I'm going to get into doing my own rehabs and flips. I'm also an auto mechanic and truck driver if things are slow.

·
Registered
10,471 Posts
My businesses include remodeling and repair plus window treatments in the construction industry. In the yacht industry, I provide renovation, deliveries, electronics and other ships systems. My speciality is custom woodworking with exotic woods, this spans both areas.

·
Registered
52 Posts
My company is a contracting and real estate investment company.

So aside from contracting we do:

Home sale preparation, real estate investment consulting, property wholesaling, flipping and we usually have anywhere from 2-5 rental properties at a time.

Sometimes I think that doing many things keeps me from being the best at any one thing. I try to read so much about all of them, but I still think that in order to build a juggernaut of a company I may have to focus on a niche.

I cannot imagine owning another unrelated business. There is no way I could put the time into it to run it properly.

·
DGR,IABD
9,683 Posts
Do a couple flips a year and have a few rentals, but that's still pretty much construction related. Doing flips would be a good thing for any contractor of any type, since it can help the guys fill out a day here and there, or fill in a slow week.

·
Registered
79 Posts
Discussion Starter #9 (Edited)
I used to run a small lawn business along with my drywall/carpentry/painting business throughout most of the 1990's.