Contractor Talk - Professional Construction and Remodeling Forum banner

1 - 20 of 31 Posts

·
Registered
40 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've been painting for 6 years, mostly paid hourly and have done mostly repaints and restorations in commercial settings. I'm new to painting new residental construction by bid and I have alot of questions regarding labor rates.
I accepted an offer from a local builder to paint the interior of eight two bedroom apartments. After completing the job, I was amazed at how little money was involved for the amount of time it took. The builder supplied the paint.
The specifics are to apply two coats (same color) of latex to all wall surfaces (new drywall) with only having to cut in the ceiling since the work was done before the trim carpenter installed any cabinets, base, doors and molding. There was nothing to cut in around except for where the walls met the textured ceiling which was not painted. The total wall sq. ft. per apartment was 1,984 times 2 for two coats. (a total of 3968 sq ft to be painted). Other than that the only other thing to be painted was two coats of paint of two new steel doors. The job paid 250.00 per apartment for labor only. Im not exactally how everyone estimates (wall sq. ft. or floor sq ft?), but the labor rate worked out to 6.3 cents per sq ft per coat. I know new residental construction rates are low, but I would really like to know how anyone with experience in new construction feels about this scenario. It would help me out a great deal to know how this stacks up.
Thanks, Bret

·
Registered
10,471 Posts
If that job were here, I'd be enjoying my dinner of beanie wienies curbside and hoping that the cops would pick me up so that I'd have a place to sleep.

·
Pro Painter
2,314 Posts