Contractor Talk - Professional Construction and Remodeling Forum banner
1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi Y'all , I'm new to this so any help is greatly appreciated. Don't mind my
spelling. I am planning to build a Barn Style Home and hope someone can give
me some insite on it. I used to frame custom and pre-fab homes years ago and I plan on doing most of it myself. The question is how to get a totally open 36' X 60' bottom floor without a bunch of beams and columns. This house will be completely framed in wood and I plan on doing the outside walls with 2" x 6" lumber. The first floor is going to be my playroom w/pool table, bar, bigscreen TV , and furniture. The secound floor will be the Kitchen, Livingroom, Bedrooms and Bath. There will be a loft on the back half above the secound floor mesuring 36' W X 30' L. Bedrooms and Bathroom will be tucked under the loft, leaving the Livingroom and Dinning/Kitchen area open up to the Barn Style Roof Trusses. Secound floor and Loft are set as to support, what I need help with is how to support all that above the First Floor without beams and columns. Would engineered floor trusses running across the 36' at 16" O.C. do the job or do I need something else ??? Thnx, Frenchie.

·
Custom Builder
4,406 Posts
The architectural term for barn style is 'gambrel'

Because of the multiple ridges on a gambrel you also have multiple load points on the roof. Better think about microlams or steel.

Give us more info, a drawing or something, a small floor plan would be most helpful.

Bob

·
Registered
10,471 Posts
36' is quite a stretch. I'm thinking that you're going to lose about 24" with engineered trusses. I can run some numbers for you but whatever you do I think that you are going to run into a variety of problems, flex being #1.