Contractor Talk - Professional Construction and Remodeling Forum banner
1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
1,308 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Anyone here have experience with taking classes online? How did you qualify the curriculum to see if it would be worth the money?

I have a Bachelor's in English from Goucher College but I never took any courses related to our industry or business in general. I know I can read books for free but I was just curious about this route too.

·
Registered
5,855 Posts
I've taking several business classes on line. As long as you discipline yourself, I think they're great. But you can't keep saying I have all week to do this or read that. The week is over before you know it and now you have to cram.

·
Registered
132 Posts
i took two continuing education courses on line a couple years ago for my contractors license renewal. They were a joke. classes for people who don't want to take classes.

·
Kowboy
2,453 Posts
My community college offered online classes that I enjoyed very much. Everyone had to post their assignments. It was fun and a good learning experience.

I just took a 3 hour online continuing education class to renew my Michigan builder's license. Not too tough and I learned a few things also.

·
Registered
123 Posts
There are lots of free online courses these days. You just have to find one that you like. Check out Kahn Academy. Their motto "Free, World Class Education for everyone".

MIT has an open course education site where you can take any class free. But...you don't get college credit for it.

Most colleges accept people in their classrooms who are auditing a corse. Many have a lower fee ($100) for community people to take their courses...but you don't get credits.

Also, don't discount YouTube. you can learn almost anything you want to know about construction here.

·
Registered
1,308 Posts
Discussion Starter · #8 ·
Marven said:
Yes. A mentor would be great. Maybe your friendly accountant.