Contractor Talk - Professional Construction and Remodeling Forum banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
29 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
As a young contractor I find it difficult starting a business in this market. I'm lost when it comes to pay roll, workmens comp, quickbooks etc. Getting paper work, tools and insurance is the easy part. Would anyone recommend getting a degree in business? In my opinion, spending thousands of dollars on a degree would be helpful, but overkill. Learning as I go and reading books from the local library seems to have the same impact as a business degree. What is your opinion?

Thanks,
Erickson Walters

·
Registered
917 Posts
I can tell you from experience that a business degree may be un-neccessary. I have a bachelors in Business Administration from Western Michigan.

The problem is that a business degree is usually based on learning about larger corporations, HR theories, stuff like that. You will learn a lot that will help with your business. But I'd suggest some small business classes at a local comm. college, something along those lines.

A degree is a good thing to have if your not planning on contracting your whole life. So its ultimately based on what your future plans are

·
Banned
28 Posts
As a young contractor I find it difficult starting a business in this market. I'm lost when it comes to pay roll, workmens comp, quickbooks etc. Getting paper work, tools and insurance is the easy part. Would anyone recommend getting a degree in business? In my opinion, spending thousands of dollars on a degree would be helpful, but overkill. Learning as I go and reading books from the local library seems to have the same impact as a business degree. What is your opinion?

Thanks,
Erickson Walters