Contractor Talk - Professional Construction and Remodeling Forum banner
1 - 20 of 43 Posts

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am basically a landscape contractor (retired from road construction) but have built some brick and cobblestone walls, layed mortarless brick patios etc. I have taken on a job of installing a 1200 sq ft brick patio using old brick over a poured slab. The brick are ALL different sizes width, length and thickness. (I can give dimensions if wanted) My first question is what will be the best brick pattern to use to accomodate the varying sizes of brick. They want a basketweave. Second, how do I lay it out. I suppose I will need to make fat mortar joints to make up for the length and width of the brick? I plan on using a grout bag to fill in the joints. Is this advisable. What sand/mortar mix ratio is used in laying brick pavers. ANY help with this will be greatly appreciated.

·
Registered
2,368 Posts
I would say a basket weave pattern would be your best bet. Next to a normal bond you see on a wall. But that on a patio would be boring. You will need to put down thinset or full flex mortar for adhering the brick to the pavement. Let those set up for a day. After that you can walk on them and it will be alot easier to grout. I would use a type M for the joints. Its stronger, more durable, and is better resistant to water. I would say for that mixture use 1 bag mortar to about 20 good size shovels of sand. Or if you use bagged silica sand, get the 100lb bags and go 3 sand to 1 mortar.

edit: