Contractor Talk - Professional Construction and Remodeling Forum banner
1 - 20 of 46 Posts

·
Registered
544 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am a leather tool belt guy. I'm very weary about buying a nylon belt, but the fat lip system seems to fit my needs the best, out of any belt brand I have looked at. I have been searching for the past month! I am a union carpenter, and I work steady for a GC mainly doing commercial interiors. Mostly metal studs, drywall, casework, millwork, accoustical ceilings, doors &hardware, concrete, and I do alot of side work. My question is are these belts worth the money? Are they going to tear up like to Home depot and Lowes nylon belts? My current leather belt cost me around $100.00, this is more than double, what are your opinions? Thanks everyone

·
Registered
544 Posts
Discussion Starter · #8 ·
The nylon is way better than any cheeper bag I had before, they're not even in the same league
Great, Im looking for a bag to keep in the gangbox at work, and I will keep my current bag for sidework. Im going to order on here in the next month. The ol' lady is giving me trouble about it so I have to wait until I do this next side job....

·
GC/carpenter
43,900 Posts
Bag Fashion accessory Leather Handbag Material property

Here's the set I use, there not the fat lips. I didn't want the fat lips. These are lighter without all the leather. I'm all about weight these days and I will pay a premium for it.

·
stacker of sticks
8,502 Posts
overanalyze said:
I have this set in black. It took a month or two to break in the tape holder and get real comfortable. Mine are three years old now. I love them still.

Mine are just getting good, I sealed them in warm water as soon as I got them

·
Registered
2,346 Posts
that's why I was scratching my head haha. with my occis I loaded all of my tools in then slathered the leather holders with boot oil and it worked well. my CLCs are 100% nylon so I soaked them in a Spackle bucket of hot water for 3 hours

·