Contractor Talk - Professional Construction and Remodeling Forum banner

1 - 20 of 43 Posts

·
Carpe Diem
20,716 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Well, at least I'm hoping. After YEARS of waking up sore, partially from aches and partially from a crap mattress, I have finally talked the woman into buying a good mattress. I have been doing research about them for almost 2 years. Bottom line is you need to use as firm of a mattress as you can handle for support.

My dilemma was a firm innerspring mattress just wasn't comfortable and a soft foam mattress wasn't supportive enough. Well this year Stearns and Foster came up with what I believe is the marriage between the two. An innerspring mattress with foam built in. I finally came to understand technology and engineering are just as important in a mattress as say a car or power saw.

I should be receiving the new mattress in a week. Although I do have some reservations, I am excited. 4 kinds of foam, individually wrapped double coils, fully supported edges, covered in cashmere.....:thumbup:
I'll post my initial reviews after a few nights and then something a little more long term. Maybe my pains will subside, some????

·
Curmudgeon
11,706 Posts
Good luck with that. :thumbsup:
Don't think that would have prevented
my current back problems though.
Lifting someone who weighs half again
as much as you do can cause some hurt. :sad:

·
Capra Aegagrus
Remodeler
24,816 Posts
Lifting someone who weighs half again
as much as you do can cause some hurt. :sad:
I hear that. They usually don't come with the right handles to balance the load properly. Still hangin' in there, though? :thumbsup:

As for mattresses, for some reason I've never had quite enough incentive to go for anything fancy. I just shove a hunk of plywood under mine.

·
Carpe Diem
20,716 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
As for mattresses, for some reason I've never had quite enough incentive to go for anything fancy. I just shove a hunk of plywood under mine.