Contractor Talk - Professional Construction and Remodeling Forum banner
1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have been a builder for over 20 years and in the last five have noticed a growing trend of homes that have the plywood and studs rotting out. I was at a house that was built in the 40s and was wrapped with tar paper which has always been my choice. There had been a new addition added and it had tyvek on it. the addition had rot everywhere under the siding and paper but the house which was much older looked like new under the tar paper. Both parts of the house were adequately insulated and ventilated. Also there were no problems with flashing or incorrectly installed housewrap. I have since seen this in many homes and have a builder friend who has 6 homes with massive rot problems including his own all about 8 years old.The 2 papers I have seen this with are tyvek and barricade. Is anyone else experiencing this and if so do you know of any recourse. Thanks Al

·
Registered
168 Posts
Just saw that last week

On a house that was 8 years old.

We were replacing a door and when we removed the old unit, we discovered that the framing around the door was completely rotted out.

Didn't dig too deep, but all the framing we could see was a major problem.

We pulled off and she had to call her builder in.

·
KemoSabe
14,233 Posts
Is there a big cost difference in using tar paper vs Tyvek housewrap?
I don't know about Tyvek, but a 2 square roll of #30 felt is going just under 24 bucks, or 12 cents a square foot. #15 should be the same price but 4 square roll or 6 cents a square foot.

·
Registered
3,379 Posts
Over 65% of the windows today are installed incorrectly because of the "seat of the pants" opinions and it looked good.