Contractor Talk - Professional Construction and Remodeling Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
40 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm new to contracting, and I've looked at the residential specialty code, and I'm still not clear... I am working on a house with a walk-in closet that was added to a master bedroom by popping out into the garage. The closet is fully sheetrocked inside, and on on the outside (from the garage) it has wood paneling. I can't see, but I think it's just standard framing with the sheetrock on the inside, wood paneling on the outside, and poly bats between. The ceiling is sheetrocked inside, and just has poly bats laid in the framing with wood panels just laid over the top on the outside.

My problem is that a home inspector has determined the closet does not have a "safety firewall as required".

Any suggestions as to what this means?

Thanks!

·
improving homes
1,034 Posts
I would do like joasis suggested and make a phone call to the inspector and ask him what he would like to see on there to meet code. Inspectors should give you some help and most like it when you ask what they want to see to make them happy.

I know that in my area most garages are drywalled with 5/8" rock on the garage side of the wall common with interior living space to meet fire rating.

·
Registered
40 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Thanks for the info.

I did email and ask him to clarify. I just want to be up on this kind of thing. I suppose I'll hear from him shortly.