Contractor Talk - Professional Construction and Remodeling Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
375 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi, I'm new to the forum. I have over 12 years experience in the hardwood flooring industry. I have worked in many different situations, old and new as well as commercial. As far as the commercial goes, I have worked fraternity and sororities as well has college campuses. I do mostly residential remodel type work and a few new construction homes.

Beyond my 12 years in the flooring industry, I have been around residential construction for most of my life. I have seen homes built from the initial clearing of the land to the septics and basements as well as the concrete and finish work on the homes. I have even been a roofer and even had my hands on a little tuck-point. I have drywalled and even smooth-wall plastered.

So, I know how a house works. Blablabla right? Just introducing myself. Hope to add to the knowledge base here.

~~Jeff of Hardwood Floors Exclusive
Pacific Northwest

·
Flooring Guru
2,794 Posts
Welcome!

I am looking forward to hearing your hardwood expertise

·
Registered
8 Posts
hey newbie

1. If installing 3/4" oak hardwood floors on top of concrete, should I 1st install a plywood subfloor over the concrete and then nail the floor to the plywood or should I just glue/cement the flooring over the concrete itself.

2. What do u think about english white pine extra wide planks(some planks as wide as 14") as far as installation( glue or nail) and durability ?

Thanks in advance

Ed

·
Registered
363 Posts
nova said:
1. If installing 3/4" oak hardwood floors on top of concrete, should I 1st install a plywood subfloor over the concrete and then nail the floor to the plywood or should I just glue/cement the flooring over the concrete itself.

2. What do u think about english white pine extra wide planks(some planks as wide as 14") as far as installation( glue or nail) and durability ?

Thanks in advance

Ed