Contractor Talk - Professional Construction and Remodeling Forum banner
1 - 20 of 69 Posts

·
Registered
80 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Im fairly new to the finish carpentry trade. Doing mostly commercial work. I have been investing a lot in new tools and have to carry them from job to job daily.

I am not always in eyes sight of my tools bags and equipment and i keep getting comments from other contractors about my new tools which is starting to make me a little worried about things growing legs.

Anybody have any tips?

Most my tools i mark my initials with a sharpie but that can be erased. And im not a fan of carving initials into tools incase i ever decide to sell them to buy better ones

·
Registered
1,706 Posts
Im fairly new to the finish carpentry trade. Doing mostly commercial work. I have been investing a lot in new tools and have to carry them from job to job daily.

I am not always in eyes sight of my tools bags and equipment and i keep getting comments from other contractors about my new tools which is starting to make me a little worried about things growing legs.

Anybody have any tips?

Most my tools i mark my initials with a sharpie but that can be erased. And im not a fan of carving initials into tools incase i ever decide to sell them to buy better ones
its like wearing new Air Jordans to the playground..they gonna get mushed, stepped on, and if you in the hood you gonna have to fight to keep them..
but as a man..you can set your worries aside..pack them up daily..remove them from site..and bust balls back..

writing your name on it means nothing..I got a 10" dewalt chop saw with and a Makita table saw both with other names on it. ( i bought them used)

If you are that paranoid..get a job box on site take out only what you need and lock up the rest.