Contractor Talk - Professional Construction and Remodeling Forum banner
1 - 20 of 39 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I pretty much have no clue at all about Masonry. I've been playing Internet Poker for a living for the past 4 years and I've done very well in doing so and my dad who has been in the Masonry Business for 30 years asked me last week if I would consider going into business with him 50/50 partners. The agreement is I front the money to get started and just take care of the finances and if he needs any help in any other areas I would help if needed. Here's where the problem is for me, as i stated before he has been in the business for 30 years but has struggled majority of the time when working for himself. I believe one reason is because he doesn't have much of a clue as to how the estimating process works. When he figures a job he figures the job per block or per 1,000 brick that's it no additional charges for overhead or profit. Example: there's a commercial job that a GC contacted him asking him to bid it's 15,000 sf i asked him what he was going to price it his reply either 450-500 a K with no markup which seems very low to me on commercial and if this is how he is going to bid once we go into business we will never be successful. My ? should we still calculate the jobs the way he has been doing for years and add markup or should I calculate the job by total # of man hours, unusual labor productivity, overhead and profit? What % can you get for overhead and profit atm?

·
Vendor
6,347 Posts
Cost of materials+labor+POH=price. And don't forget to read the plans and specifications carefully, it will only take one SS wire job that you missed to put you out of business.

·
Registered
8,139 Posts