Contractor Talk - Professional Construction and Remodeling Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 20 of 45 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am a Contractor who has never laid a bit of stone. Generally, pretty smart when it comes to new projects. I have a customer who trusts noone else in their home to do work. They have a fireplace that is to be covered with Stoneworks Autumn and Buckeye fieldstone. I understand the wood sheeting exterior, tar paper, and lathe. My question is... without having experience in properly mixing mortars, is their a ready mix for the scratch coat and installation mortar that I can use to prevent the possibility of wrongly mixing these two?

·
Registered
2,368 Posts
I am a Contractor who has never laid a bit of stone. Generally, pretty smart when it comes to new projects. I have a customer who trusts noone else in their home to do work. They have a fireplace that is to be covered with Stoneworks Autumn and Buckeye fieldstone. I understand the wood sheeting exterior, tar paper, and lathe. My question is... without having experience in properly mixing mortars, is their a ready mix for the scratch coat and installation mortar that I can use to prevent the possibility of wrongly mixing these two?
Get a qualified mason to do the work, or tell the HO, which I would imagine is you, that you will not touch it and need to hire a qualified mason.

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·