Contractor Talk - Professional Construction and Remodeling Forum banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am going into carpentry and trying to get a job with Schumacher's Construction incase anyone knows of them and I have an application in. The only thing is I have no experience in construction. Other than doing personal things, I don't know much more than your average Joe. I can work with basic tools and I am pretty adaptable, I have always been good with figuring things out on my own and learning things by physically doing them. I like hard work and physical work, boxed for 4 years you have to love sweat and pain for that. Anyways what I'm asking is what can I do or can I do anything to get some kind of experience. Should I just hope they accept me and teach me everything or should I can I do something to learn some basic skills? Unfortunately I did not take construction trades in highschool and this is my senior year so thats out of the question. Im gonna cut it off there sorry for the long post.

Sean

·
Banned
3,292 Posts
So I take it you around 18. Don't worry they like to hire young. Just show'em you'll be to work every day and on time. Also don't mope around always be busy.

·
Registered
10,471 Posts
boxer, There should be a trade school near you. Check your community colleges and local builders assocns. You can also contact local contractors, bigger is better, many of them have 'earn as you learn' programs.
Expect other suggestions.
Stay in touch and let us know how it goes. Passing on your info is what this board is about and how to break into the biz is part of it.

·
Registered
269 Posts
Hello Sean,