Contractor Talk - Professional Construction and Remodeling Forum banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey guys! New member here. Just stumbled across this forum but looks like it has a bunch of experienced folks on here.
I’m currently an office manager at a local veterinary clinic here in the Bay Area, CA. It’s a fairly busy clinic (we have 4-5 vets etc) so I take pride in my work and dedicate myself to the job. HOWEVER, I have such a yearning to leave soon and fulfill my passion of building homes.
I had the privilege to help my parents build their dream home, a 10,000 square foot behemoth of a home. And it was a blast. They had a falling out with their GC and we ended up doing an owner build essentially. After I graduated college, I came back and went full time on that job- no pay but just for the experience it was worth it. I would stay with my girlfriend or my parents at the time.

Anyways, I make decent money and have been saving up so that I am able to pursue something as a GC. I am in the midst of applying for my license and have most of referral letters lined up.

The reason for my rant is....am I crazy to leave my cozy job as an office manager and pursue this? Am I crazy not too. I’m at that point right now where I feel like if I don’t do this now, I’m just never going to jump in. The problem I’m having essentially, is how to get started? Properties here are so expensive in the Bay Area- that even I buy a plot- I would basically use up my funds for the land have nothing left for construction costs.
For reference, I have 200k saved up and good credit etc.

I’m just looking for guidance or where to start- my passion would be building and selling residential homes as I have some experience with that and would love to build someone’s dream home!
Anyways, I hope I’ll be able to get some sort of guidance here! Thank everyone in advance- if you got this far then you’re a trooper!

- Garry G.

·
Registered
Remodel
28,038 Posts