Contractor Talk - Professional Construction and Remodeling Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
My husband and I have been running a residential repaint company for about 4 1/2 yrs. He worked at it part time on and off for many years before that. It's been an experience and I have learned a lot about marketing, hiring and firing people, keeping books, etc--not to mention that I have gotten to be a fairly good painter myself. We currently have 1 full time employee and others who help out on an as needed basis. We had 2 other full time employees, but we had to let them go when work went down. Illegals are really pulling down business in our area. I am wanting eventually to get out and into my own business--not paint related, but at least for the time being, painting is putting the food on our table. My husband plans to stay in the business. He says he enjoys it, but to hear him at the end of the day, you wouldn't believe it!

Moonlyric

·
Registered
92 Posts
Welcome to the board. My wife's ear is swollen from my complaints about all of the illeagals. I see one company full of illeagal workers painting the jobs that I bid on all of the time. I asked the owner of the company if he had all of the proper insurance and if he pays all taxes and worker's comp. He smiled and said, "who can afford all of that?"
I am all for everyone making money, but there has to be some sort of control over this matter- taking the carpet right out from under my feet and there is nothing that I can do about it. Homeowners think that the contractor does not need insurance because they have Homeowner's insurance. I have to laugh at that- lets see them put a claim in for Juan falling off a 20 ladder, breaking his back and the dining room table to boot- the insurance co might cover the dining room table, but they will be paying for the broken back for a long time.
I am frustrated as well

·
Registered
10,471 Posts