Contractor Talk - Professional Construction and Remodeling Forum banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
236 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello,

I have been a remodeling/ carpentry contractor for 9 years.

• I have recently became a residential GC. I havesome questions regarding bidding jobs and writing contracts. in my locale I am NOT allowed to do any plumbing or electrical work. but as far as I know GCS bidJobs including electrical plumbing or H vac work.

I just want to make sure if it's legal and legit to bid a project that includes the electrical and plumbing work . while hiring licensed subcontractors to do said work.

if it is legal and legit the concern that I have is with the lien laws. lien laws in the state of Florida state that it is only enforceable for work that you are licensed to do. so basically I'm a little confused and looking for someone that can clear things up for me.

I really appreciate any advice that you gave me.

thank you

·
Registered
7,076 Posts
Hello,

I have been a remodeling/ carpentry contractor for 9 years.

• I have recently became a residential GC. I havesome questions regarding bidding jobs and writing contracts. in my locale I am NOT allowed to do any plumbing or electrical work. but as far as I know GCS bidJobs including electrical plumbing or H vac work.

I just want to make sure if it's legal and legit to bid a project that includes the electrical and plumbing work . while hiring licensed subcontractors to do said work.

if it is legal and legit the concern that I have is with the lien laws. lien laws in the state of Florida state that it is only enforceable for work that you are licensed to do. so basically I'm a little confused and looking for someone that can clear things up for me.

I really appreciate any advice that you gave me.

thank you

• In what scenario does that lien law cause trouble for you or for the plumber?

·
Registered
236 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·