Contractor Talk - Professional Construction and Remodeling Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello all, I hope this comes up in the right discussion section.

I am new to this site. I was a union carpenter for 7 years, however in this economy and with me going up in pay, i have been laid off for some time now. So i decided to start up my own contracting business. I have paid for the insurance, the license, our logo, even paid a lead company who i believe wont ever send me a single lead! I am having a hard time getting off the ground and getting work. Any advice on getting work would be extremely appreciated! I was making an excellent salary in the union, to making peanuts with unemployment. I have a large family to take care of, and i really need to find work soon.

Is using a lead company the best way to go? I am insured for residential and commercial. I would prefer to do commercial, however, I am a little skeptical. What if the GC doesn't pay right away to cover the expenses and workers? Also, in your experience, getting residential work as a new business, is it hard? Don't customers want to see previous work?

Sorry my questions are all over the place here. I am a little frustrated and have allot to ask!

Thanks in advance!

·
Registered
346 Posts
good for you, glad you are going off on your own. but as for getting yourself out there, just start hitting everything you can with all you've got. I mean, you want this to work, right? door to door with flyers, emails to real estate offices promoting your business, cards, anything to get your name out. the limits are only with yourself....BUT...I would not sit on my arse and wait for a lead generator.....Hell, Ive even scored jobs walking around Home depot acting like I was shopping only to have a potential customer as me for help....(helped wearing an orange shirt and my home depot installer badge) lol