Contractor Talk - Professional Construction and Remodeling Forum banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi Folks,
I'm a new land surveyor, and boy do I feel dumb. Here's why:
My first project I did for the developer I work for was the site plan for a new house. After untold hours editing and rechecking the plan, I felt pretty confident I was on the right track. Getting out to the site a day early, I set up and began laying everything out, exactly to the plan I'd submitted. The next day, when the GC showed up, he walked around the site for about ten minutes, told me "Nice paint job, and I like the orange flags, but you should really wait until after the hole is dug before you lay out the footings" :wallbash:
Anyway, I'd really appreciate any advice, or things you'd like to see, and maybe, just maybe, with your help I can not look idiot.
Thank,
Skoot

·
Super Moderator
10,597 Posts
20 years ago, the company I worked for would often layout the house without a surveyor. Basic houses out in the boonies often. One day our superintendent and a laborer went out to layout a house. They were there working for a couple of hours, carefully measuring and staking. When they finished, they heard the neighbor came over and asked what they were doing. They told him they were staking out so that construction could begin. He then informed them that they were on the wrong lot! They quickly removed the stakes and moved to the adjacent(correct) lot. The super instructed the laborer to never tell anyone about this. He spilled the beans at the first opportunity.:laughing:

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 · (Edited)