Contractor Talk - Professional Construction and Remodeling Forum banner
1 - 20 of 27 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello all , I am new to this forum . I am a residential home builder on Long Island ny and we are having problems with the neighbors on a new construction site . To give a little background the property is waterfront with a beach and had been vacant up to 4 months ago. So as you can image the neighbors not only lost their views but beach access . Our problems are ongoing since the neighbor directly across the street is now complaining that are dirt from site is on his grass and destroyed his property . We have installed silt fencing and hay bales around the entire parcel and even at the road to minimize any effects to properties around us . Our job sites are always kept spotless also . With have no issues with building dept and have done wverything to be in compliance the hay bales at road are not even required . My question would be am I as the contractor or property owners responsible for the dirt that is being wind driven onto the neighbors lawn .

·
Box Builder
6,320 Posts
If all is good with the "law" then you should be all set. Sounds like neighbor is being a PIA. Maybe you could offer a good raking and blowing of his grass when you're done.

·
Registered
7,181 Posts
I've ran into two PITA neighbors.

One said they were going to sue because we cracked their 30 year old vinyl siding but luckily beforehand pictures showed it was there already so I said any further contact will need to be through my attorney.