Contractor Talk - Professional Construction and Remodeling Forum banner
1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
54 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I know this may get kinda long but bare with me please.
I am a newbie here on this board and in need of some help.
I have been doing drywall finishing for 8 yrs. Here recently I was forced by Florida law to be incorporated and basically I am considered a drywall contractor now. But still I have to work for other dwsubs because of my lack in knowledge of knowing how to get a board count and bidding on new construction and remodels. I have to be inc. , insured, and carry workmans comp or exempt. Everything a drywall sub has to be but not making the money a drywall sub makes. It boils down to the fact that I'm a sub working for a sub thats working for the GC. In other words, as you can plainly see, I make the least amount of the three. I want my business to succeed but don't see that happening working for other subs.
I could really use some help from other drywall subs on this board in learning how to bid remodels, bid new construction, and board counts.
I mean I can go in a new construction and physically count up the boards or figure it out if the GC can tell me the whole sq. footage of the house (walls and ceilings). In remodels, I can figure the wall board count but not sure how to do ceiling board count. I have no problem going into a remodel and knowing what material and a close count to as how much but not what to charge. I don't want to over charge people but in the same token, I don't want to cut my own throat.
I'm not a fly by nighter finisher. Not to blow my own horn but I have been considered one of the best finishers in the panhandle of Florida.