Contractor Talk - Professional Construction and Remodeling Forum banner

need some help

2308 16
hey guys im new to the ct i need so help i own a small framing company and i got a little nissan truck and im tired of having to unload and load ever thing in the bed got a saddle tool box but it only fits the hand tools and my impact and drill need some ideas how to store my stuff
1 - 17 of 17 Posts
Enclosed trailer? Camper shell or several big tools boxes that you can attach to the truck and put locks on.
c i thought about the cap and trailer but im leaning more towards the cap but i just dont care to much for them cause when my old man ran the show thats what he used and i just hated crawling in to get what ever i need and it always seems to be clear in the front
Vans work the best for framing in my opinion. On larger jobs, we usually have a gang box on site and store our cords/hoses/nails in there. We use a cable with a padlock for our picks and ladders. I have owned pick ups, vans, and box trucks. Never had a trailer. Just didn't see it working for our situation.
Reactions: TNTRenovate
Okie has it with a shell. The pain is that you have to crawl in and out to get stuff. that's where a bed slide/pull out comes in handy. I worked out a Nissan hardbody for 7 years now I have a Chevy Express 3500 van. I miss the truck only for dump runs and 4x4, I don't miss having to crawl over all my chit to get what's up front. Check Craigslist for a deal, sometimes you can find them on there for free.
alright hey thanks guys
They make shells with doors on the side as well as the rear. Makes it easier for grabbing stuff out of it.
Reactions: smalpierre
How high is the top of the bed? If it's a 2wd older Nissan, about waist high at the bed rails, you can reach more than half way. Get a cap with doors on the side. I like caps that are flat with the top of the cab so you can mount ladder racks.