Contractor Talk - Professional Construction and Remodeling Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
ready to start building our new home and planning on using laminate in the whole upstairs. so confused with all the laminates out there. don't want "shoddy" quality; don't need "top of the line"...just my hubby and me and one adult child at home. trying to keep costs down.
interested in the "click in place" laminates, at least an 8mm, darker shade, with a 25 yr. warranty. thinking of "harmonics", or "quick step"...and today found out about "kronotex". found kronotex very, very, very cheap online, but wary. please advise. thanks,
gracia

·
Registered
47 Posts
Ive been working with Kronotex for about 3 years now, no problems yet. Kronotex has 7 or 8 different series, look for Dynamic Click 2 Click, the others arent too good.

Me and the fuzzy bear have arguments about costs, not all cheap laminates are bad, Krono gives u quality at a low price, Shaw gives u crap at a low price. Dont buy your laminate from the store, it will end up costing you way more than it should. Order it online and have it shipped.

·
Flooring Guru
2,794 Posts
mm is important but not THE most important factor.
wear layer, high or direct pressure, how many kraft sheets, core density, thickness of wear layer, all play a part in the game.
Major manufacturers such as Quickstep, Wilsonart, Armstrong, Witex all carry more affordable quality in their line and they will actually be around to service warranties.

Online can get you a good price, but always check to see if someone locally can compete with an exact same product. Apples to Apples.
Keeping your money locally can save you money down the road if everyone tried harder to do it.
Online companies have lower overhead so that keeps the price down, but the service can't be as good as a local company, although there are some good online companies.