Contractor Talk - Professional Construction and Remodeling Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am a plumbing contractor in the midwest (kansas city area), and I do 90% of my work on a bid basis. That is, low bid gets awarded the job. Sometimes you have bids out there that don't get accepted for 3-6 months or even a year. Because of this, and the inherent nature of our business to slow down without cause or event, when times are slow, I bid everything thrown my way. In an effort to keep my employees busy and to be able to stay in business. Inveriably, every other year I end up with twice as many jobs as I can handle. Now I am in the heat of battle, with 14+ projects, and at least 4 fast tracked jobs, I cannot appropriately man the jobs. I am in fear of losing control of all for trying to please everyone all at once.

It is nearly impossible to hire new help quickly without suffering quality or integrity in their work. I am currently contacting other plumbing contractors in the area to see if they can "send temporary help". One has come to my aide, but others are reluctant unless they can maintain their profit. Does anyone have any suggestions as to my options here? I have already weighed the option of higher labor costs with the thought of being fired from a contract and agree it is best to lose profit and gain respectability.

I have never failed at contract in the five years I have owned the company, and I do not wish to start now, but with the unbelievable pressures coming down on me from all angles, I don't know what my options are? Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,

Tom

·
Registered
3,265 Posts
Once you've signed a contract your options really get narrow. I would suggest shedding any work that you don't have a signed agreement on.