Contractor Talk - Professional Construction and Remodeling Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have been subing from drywall contractors in sc for a few years and i want to start doing my own bids but i need to know what prices to charge. I have the price list that the contractor pays me per sq. Footage but what does he actually charge? What is his mark up so that i would know what to charge when i bid?

·
Registered
2,216 Posts
As much as the market will bear........

But do remember, while it may seem to you that your GC is skimming 10-15 mark-up on your work, that GC is performing a service for the end user (sub or customer).

He is scheduling, overseeing, coordinating, having back-up, and to a degree guaranteeing your work. He has procured the work and in effect put his reputation upfront in who he hires to the customer or GC.

Not bad to go out on your own, but realize that any mark-up on your work does not majically flow into your pocket without additional work and expertise.

I don't know your market, but his mark-up is likely to vary significantly with the job and his negotiating position, as will yours.

Good luck.... best learn the market ASAP.

·
Home Repairs
291 Posts
I have been subing from drywall contractors in sc for a few years and i want to start doing my own bids but i need to know what prices to charge. I have the price list that the contractor pays me per sq. Footage but what does he actually charge? What is his mark up so that i would know what to charge when i bid?