Contractor Talk - Professional Construction and Remodeling Forum banner

1 - 20 of 50 Posts

·
Registered
797 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm not a construction worker. I am a manager to a contractor who is pulling me in to jobs that are new to me. I have a question with Ice and Water. I will try to explain this the best I can so not to be too confusing. Bare with me.

First of all, what is the proper NON brand name for this shield? My main question, I've been given a job to ice and water around windows that are stepped. I'm trying to figure out the best way to do this so it doesn't bunch up in the corners and still makes a perfect seal.

I played around with it today for about an hour and the best seal I've been able to come up with is like a butterfly or better yet, a bow tie cut placed in the corners to seal. A second layer, slit at a 45 degree up to the step, placed on top. When applied, it splits and reveals the bow tie I first applied. It seems to make a nice seal. The rest is easy. Just these corners I'm wanting to make work. Thanks for any help you can give me on this.

Mods, Im not sure where to put this. Most roofers use this stuff but this is more of a construction or carpenter's question?

·
Registered
7,365 Posts
Ice and Water shield is pretty thick for window flashing. Have you looked into flashing products that are designed for use around windows available in 3 1/2" and 6" widths? Grace Vycor, Protectowrap, 3M, Zip Tape, etc.

·
Registered
12,339 Posts
^^^^^^ What he said. Why are you using Ice and Water shield instead of the proper products? They also make a corner for the window flashings.

·
Registered
797 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 · (Edited)
I thought Grace Vycor and Ice and Water were the same but different product names only. Grace Vycor is what I was actually using today. So scrap what I said about Ice and Water and replace it with Grace Vycor. Thanks Eric, VinylHanger.

·
Super Moderator
11,937 Posts