Contractor Talk - Professional Construction and Remodeling Forum banner
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Professional
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi everyone, 1st post here on great site. My background is 20 years contractor/remodeling and need to figure out why people are so fixated on hourly rates of contractors. I do price my self out of a good amount of work when I am asked about hourly rates. Can I please hear of some good suggestion on how to handle objections. I am starting a handyman division because the big jobs(additions, bigger ticket projects) don't come my way anymore. Any suggestions on service charges, 1st hour, hourly rates, bid/fixed price? I need to get back to making money again.
Thanks for your thoughts
Joe

·
Livin the dream...
6,624 Posts
Go to the business section. On the upper right hand corner underneath the pages there is a "search this forum" tool. Go to advanced options. There is a drop down menu underneath the search word box. Search in "thread title only". Do searched using words like bid, fixed, estimate, pricing, quote, hourly, etc. You will find more information than you can handle.

·
Registered
819 Posts
on any job under $1,000 I don't come and give a bid

of those under $1,000 jobs I try to have a flat rate price on as many jobs as possible (replace Water softener,water heater, garbage disposal, etc)

many times I get homeowner that don't even know what is wrong or cant describe it properly....for those cases I charge $60 trip and my normal hourly rate...minimum 1 hour....and on those small jobs I typically jack up parts 200-300% to try to make some cash....I consider those small jobs filler...I make a bit, but not much when you consider all the driving around I have to do

at first when people hear your hourly rate they will almost hang up on you...but after a few years your customers will all be repeat and referrals...so hourly rate wont matter as much...I often get customers that don't even ask