Contractor Talk - Professional Construction and Remodeling Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
hi everyone. Im new here and i am looking for advice. I am a senior in college (business) who has an incredible passion for contruction and carpentry. I have no real experience, other than i am ahem....was good at woodworking in college. That aside, i just have a general knowledge of construction. I know without a lot of experience im limited, but is there a chance for me to be a contractor someday? how should i go about that? am i out of my league, or does my drive help at all. thanks a lot.-paul

·
Dharma Building
81 Posts
Welcome Porkchapes!?

My advice is go work for a contractor for a while. You may have to start as a carpenter's helper or general laborer, but if you are intelligent, dependable and work hard, you will rather quickly be given greater responsibility, as its hard to find good workers. After that, simply keep your eyes and ears open. Ask questions when you can. Observe other trades at work and learn what you can. Also, there are any number of courses and books available.

The hard part for many contractors is the business end of things, and you already have a head start over many of us in that regard. So, of course you can become a contractor. Go for it and good luck!

·
Contractor
46 Posts
porkchapes said:
hi everyone. Im new here and i am looking for advice. I am a senior in college (business) who has an incredible passion for contruction and carpentry. I have no real experience, other than i am ahem....was good at woodworking in college. That aside, i just have a general knowledge of construction. I know without a lot of experience im limited, but is there a chance for me to be a contractor someday? how should i go about that? am i out of my league, or does my drive help at all. thanks a lot.-paul

Craig said:
Welcome Porkchapes!?