Contractor Talk - Professional Construction and Remodeling Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am currently in the process of bidding on a sewage remediation project (it’s a river but more like a sewer). The flow is fairly slow. I’d appreciate any suggestions on how to create treatment “areas” within the river so the water flowing through it is held for several hours (though there is constant flow, the current flow discharge is slow enough so no need to stop the flow). I’m particularly interested in suggestions for the wall or water gate which can be constructed to create those areas (I’ll be hiring a subcontractor to do the construction. The solution should be low cost). I’m no construction expert – my area is remediation of water but I have to make a proposal for a turnkey project, hence this.

I’d be willing to pay for advice on this since I have to create a proposal/plan for this soon and don’t have the knowledge to come up with a good concept for the “areas”.
If you know much about canal, flow structure, river flow from a construction industry perspective, then let me know and I’ll pay for your time or suggestions. Please let me know if you have any questions.

There are two rivers:
1. The width of the 1st river/canal is 60 meters, and the treatment area can be divided into three areas which are (each) approximately 250 meters long, 60 meters wide and around 2.5 to 3 meters deep.
2. 2nd river is wider – around 130 meters and the depth is same (2.5- 3 meters). Three treatment areas, each approximately 250 meters needs to be built.

The coordinates, if you want to look up on google earth are: 19° 3'7.78"N, 72°50'40.96"E
attached are the pictures showing the river and the concept.
thanks.

Attachments

·
Vagitarian
3,589 Posts
The solution should be low cost).
I see nothing about this that would be low cost.

The only advice I can give is to hire a PE that specializes is this type of work.

·
Registered
3,265 Posts