Contractor Talk - Professional Construction and Remodeling Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've been painting for 15 years, but just started my own business @ a year ago. I still haven't totally figured out how to accurately and properly bid jobs. If I was to bid a job on an 1100 SF home, what is the going rate per SF? I've always bid by the hour but I have someone that wants a bid done based on SF and I have no idea what the going rate is per SF. Any advice would be much appreciated.

·
Registered
348 Posts
I've been painting for 15 years, but just started my own business @ a year ago. I still haven't totally figured out how to accurately and properly bid jobs. If I was to bid a job on an 1100 SF home, what is the going rate per SF? I've always bid by the hour but I have someone that wants a bid done based on SF and I have no idea what the going rate is per SF. Any advice would be much appreciated.
Ask him his sq. ft. price to put up a house for you. What ever reason he has for not giving you a hard number tell him the same thing. It is your business bud the job how you feel most comfortable. If he needs a sq. ft. price he can do the math.

Jim

·
Registered
1,768 Posts
Tell him that only applies to new construction for builders:whistling as for homeowners well that prices goes up to $3.25 sqft plus moving furniture and covering the flooring.etc.., This isn't let's make a deal! you need to cover your butt so if the guys is a bean counter just shoot him a price and make it high cause he will more then likely want you to come down.

www.frankawitz.net

·
Pompass Ass
2,090 Posts
If you have been painting for 15 years, I am sure you have done a similar job already, just figure how much you charged before and divide it by the square footage of the house.