Contractor Talk - Professional Construction and Remodeling Forum banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
56 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm doing a bathroom job, and need to install marble floors. Tore out the old, saw significant water damage to the sub floor. Tore it all out, going to put new 23/32" ply for subfloor, quarter inch hardibacker cement board, then flexbond and the marble. Problem is with this subfloor, the bathroom is a 5 x 4 powder room, and the sub that was in there was part of sub from the hallway also. I'm not very experienced installing new sub, but I do know that I need this floor to be very sturdy so as to not have cracks or strain in the marble down the line. Now what I have here is like 4 joists to work on, and on the side with the doorway, I don't have a joist. I can't attach to it either, there is a duct in the way, would be difficult to move. As it is right now, if I installed the sub, the first 10 inches or so would have no support from a joist. Can I bridge a little side off the closest joist? Ideal would be to hook up to the joist under the hallway floor, but vent is in the way.

And if I were to do that (move vent, hook up 2x4 or something to the under hallway joist), do I just nail those boards in, or notch out the 2x10 joists spaces for the 2x4. I want to do this right, its for a close friend.

·
Banned
14,078 Posts
I couldn't follow exactly what your situation is, but what is called for when installing new sub-flooring and dealing with existing joists is sistering and cross bracing. Go to 2x6s, you can even use deck hangers if you really want to be anal, the ones made by Simpson strong tie would work. But if you do it right all you need is wood. When in doubt use more wood.

·
Tile Setter
73 Posts