Contractor Talk - Professional Construction and Remodeling Forum banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello! I am not a contractor, I'm a web designer. A buddy of mine asked me to track down some software for him to use in estimating jobs. He works for someone else and wants to be able to take his laptop with him to make a better impression on customers and make his job easier.

He prices renovations mostly and wants to be able to input room dimensions and wall height and have the software spit out material estimates. (How many sheets of drywall, etc.)

It seems like this forum gets a lot of ... ahem... questionable posts about software quality. I'd like to hear from some of the members here what they use to price jobs. (Even if it's just a spreadsheet.)

If you work for a software company, please send me a private message with the link to your site. No need to post links in the thread. Me and my favorite search engine can track down the stuff that sounds good. ;)

·
General Contractor
1,035 Posts
Excel :)
If you can do the formulas by hand then I know excel can do it. I've got quite a few calculators (web based) but have ported a few of them to Excel for certain people. Email me or PM and let me know what your friend is looking for.
I personally don't care for "estimating" programs as they hinder you IMO. Some database created by some guy at RS Means or in some backoffice can not predict what the cost of steel is right now, or how long it takes a crew of 3 versus a crew of 4 to frame a wall.

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Yeah, I had read a post by Grumpy(I think?) that mentioned an excel spreadsheet.